A world without social media.

It’s been just under a week since I decided to give up social media for lent, and what a difference it has made. Already I feel less pressure from ‘society’, but this idea and pressure of ‘society’ is actually within our own control – you can’t be hurt by something you can’t see/read. I used to spend at least 20 minutes every morning before I even got out of bed scrolling through other peoples posts – bearing in mind I would have done exactly the same just 7 hours before whilst I was falling asleep. 40 minutes a day aimlessly scrolling through the parts of people lives that they wish to share with the world. Almost 5 hours a week. 20 hours a month. 20 HOURS A MONTH! Doing what?! Can I honestly not think of another way to spend 20 hours of my time a month?

I think being in a student environment maximises the impact of social media anyway, but already just from spending time with friends, I’ll go over to spend an afternoon with my friends, and because I don’t have any apps to ‘scroll through’, I engage in conversation, but most of the time I find myself talking to the tops of peoples heads as they continue to scroll through what is probably strangers Facebook profiles, or looking at the snapchats of people they met once on a night out.

I can only hope that eventually people realise that there IS a life outside of worrying about how many likes you’ll get on Facebook, or how many friends you have on Snapchat.

Life’s too short to spend it on social media.

 

Leave a Reply

