“I got my wish”

I always find the journey back to Cardiff one of the hardest. But it’s always important to remember how lucky I am to have a family that make it so hard to say goodbye to. One thing that I’m still playing over and over again in my head is the note that my Mum put in Megan’s 18th wish jar, something along the lines of “All I ever wished for was three beautiful girls I could be proud of, I got my wish, I hope you get yours.” Such special words that mean so much to hear. No matter what age you are I think it’s always important to be told by your parents that they’re proud of you.

11051045_636158359846946_945776794_n

“Sisters are angels that lift up our feet when our wings are having trouble remembering how to fly”

IMG_2375

This weekend was Megan’s 18th, I am still in absolute disbelief that I have a sister who is now an adult! (And who I have never heard swear!). The weekend was filled with good food, good company and lots of lovely memories. Now i’m trying to find some Monday motivation to get through the busy week that I know is ahead.

From sneaking her punch at a family get together to buying her first legal malibu at her 18th meal! What a rollercoaster it’s been of a complete mixed bag of memories. I have an overwhelming sense of pride when I look at Megan and see how strong she is as an individual. (Obviously i’m biased because she’s my sister but..) She is one of the most genuine, kindest and selfless individuals that I not only have the pleasure of knowing, but the privilege to call my sister.

“If you don’t understand how a woman could both love her sister dearly and want to wring her neck at the same time, then you were probably an only child.”

IMG_2396

One of my fondest memories with Meg is when we visited Tenby for the day, in the morning we went to Folly Farm and both milked a goat, held a cockroach and spent hours looking at all the animals and discussing our favourites. The weather was absolutely gorgeous so once we’d seen everything we wanted to, we decided to go to the beach. I had a sun hat in my boot and in true big sister style, donated it to Megan, who, much to my dismay looked a lot better than me wearing it! We spent an hour wandering round the town before finally settling on the beach with our new towels we had just bought! We spent the next couple of hours laughing together and being childish and playing around, I can honestly say I left the beach feeling completely carefree and uplifted. We were so silly but you could see other families looking at us and laughing. We were just so grateful to be in each others company and we knew that we could completely be ourselves which I think is so important. It’s a day i’ll never forget and I will be forever grateful that we decided to go to Tenby that day.

10302014_767857370010377_4381284399891488917_nI can only hope you know just how much you mean to me, love you a bushel and a peck.

Side by side or miles apart, sisters are always connected by heart.

All my love, Laura x

Leave a Reply

