“Your brain is like a bundle of fairy lights”

Today, I attended my dementia friends meeting where I pledged to be actively involved in helping people within the community who are living with dementia. I spent the majority of the meeting speaking about my lovely Grandma and hearing other people’s stories too. There was absolutely nothing negative about it and I came away feeling very lucky and uplifted that I’ve been blessed with such a lovely lady I’m able to call my Grandma.

I have pledged to work locally with the Alzheimers Society at a day care centre and also with a care home that is local to my University campus. I feel it’s important to help those who spent the younger years in their lives looking after people and now feel lonely or are unable to look after themselves.

The lady who conducted the meeting made many lovely analogies but the one that stuck with me was when she said..

“You have to imagine that your brain is like a bundle of fairy lights, you’ve had the lights forever and gradually as you’ve become older, some of the lights begin to flicker, others go out, but some stay completely in tact, that’s how we can try to understand what it’s like to live with Dementia.”

I really did learn so much today and I really loved sitting with other people who wanted to learn more and help in the same way that I do.

Today, I also pledged that I would share the things that I learnt about Dementia.

  1. Dementia is not a natural part of ageing.
  2. It’s caused by diseases of the brain, the most common being Alzheimer’s.
  3. It’s not just about losing your memory – it can affect thinking, communicating and doing everyday tasks.

Finally, a few photos of me with two very, very important people in my life who I love nothing short of unconditionally. Grandparents really do make the world go round.

6912_10153804773988698_546143694491639897_n

1065165_649496225060749_634865462_o11698577_10153447563693698_4976935289236928357_n

Leave a Reply

